In Which You Say What You Say

Vocab Corner

by Rachael Bedard

I have been using the word cupcaking a lot.

From Urban Dictionary:

It’s like flirting; being flirtatious.

“Aye yo, stop cupcaking wit that ugly ass ho.”

to talk to a guy/girl that you are attracted to on the phone for an extended period of time

“Quit cupcaking with your girl and let’s go”

Constantly kissing and being all over someone in public places

“The girl is always cupcaking with her man in the hallway”

Wow, that’s a lot of conflicting definitions. I use it in the snuggly-wuggly sense.

Because of the blog, my husband Gideon keeps calling me betch. He’s like, “Love you betch.” The other day he was making me feel better about school, and I was like “thanks baby” and he was like “anytime betch.”

Also, I like to think of everything as a caption for i can haz cheezburgr. At school I spend the whole time thinking of funny captions for the powerpoint slides.

W.S. doing what he does best

I am using the word “primsy” a lot, but it isn’t catching on. I’ll use it in a sentence: Will Smith was so primsy in that picture where he’s leading that art tour. Or, n+1 is intolerably primsy. Or, What a bunch of primsy douches. My worry with primsy is that I’m rolling it out all over, but the fish ain’t biting.

Gideon’s mom said the funniest thing in an email. She wrote an email to the whole family but she forgot to include the youngest, Sam. We were like “What about Sam?” And she wrote back “omygod…. never never tell him i forgot him.” I’ve been giggling about her use of omygod for days.

Also, I’ve been using a lot of “funsies,” “samesies,” “for realsies,” especially at school. I am literally the coolest kid in my class. I actually am. I’m not the smartest, but I am the coolest. I am making white people jokes all over the place. I’m like “you people are white people!”

Before our last exam, I generally shouted, “Good luck sluts!” It had them rolling in the aisles. Actually, not that many people heard. It was chaos in there. But those around me heard, and they laughed.

Today I made some kids play “kill, fuck, marry” with me. It was hard to think of any combination of three kids in our class where you didn’t just want to kill them all. I was playing with this hysterical guy named Ralph. He kept being like, “I would kill myself, you gotta.”

People are like “why don’t you guys ever come to parties?” or “I’m so nervous about the test” and my answer to both is always “whatever.” I am like, “I see you people all day, why would I see you more?”

Yesterday this teacher was telling us about a fictional patient couple where “two yuppies meet, fall in love, and decide to move to a brownstone in brooklyn. she gets pregnant.” Three people were like, “Rachael!”

Rachael Bedard is a contributor to This Recording. She lives in Manhattan.

EMILIANA TORRINI IS THE JAM

“Hold Heart” – Emiliana Torrini (mp3)

“Big Jumps” – Emiliana Torrini (mp3)

“Beggar’s Prayer” – Emiliana Torrini (mp3)

“Today I Sing the Blues” – Emiliana Torrini (mp3)

Maeby: I’m surprised you tried out for this.

George Michael: Yeah, I just love the theater.

Maeby: That’s great. I’m just doing it to kiss Steve Holt.

George Michael: Actually I think I’m going to quit. Yeah. Theater’s dead.

Maeby: … But he’s always going to be at football practice so I’m going to have to kiss the stand-in.

George Michael: But no. No. I love the theater, and I gave my word so I’m back in.

from this stellar tumbl

PREVIOUSLY ON THIS RECORDING

Rachel gets into the week in film.

Alex Haley and Justin Timberlake.

Bernie on the iPhone.

12 thoughts on “In Which You Say What You Say

  1. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

  2. We are a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your site provided us with valuable information to work on. You have done a formidable job and our whole community will be thankful to you.

  3. Very good post.Thanks for sharing this great article! I feel strongly about it and love learning more on this topic.Excellent post and wonderful blog, I really like this type of interesting articles keep it up.

  4. I do enjoy the way you have framed this specific issue plus it does indeed supply me some fodder for thought. Nonetheless, because of everything that I have experienced, I simply wish when the commentary pack on that people continue to be on point and don’t get started on a tirade involving some other news of the day. Yet, thank you for this excellent piece and though I can not really agree with the idea in totality, I value the viewpoint.

  5. You’ve got a lovely portrait of Rebecca Van Dyck. From a Levi’s Director of Marketing to Head of Marketing, Facebook, this lady need to be a marketing genius.

  6. I want to add your birthday: This app makes it easy for you to remember your friends’ birthdays. Organizations always keep on searching for ways which they can use for promoting their products and services. As most apps are built with the iPhone in mind, then I recommend you just start building one for that first. When you download this Port Coquitlam android app development, Surrey mobile app development, you must indicate first your phone type and you will be provided with the version compatible with it. The Android App Developer has been able to carefully design the entire android system in a very efficient manner.

Leave a comment