In Which We Travel Back to 1981 to Learn a Thing or Two About Fashion

WASPs Love P-Run

by Tyler Coates

Project Runway Week 4

I was so excited when Rami and Chris were talking about a Project Runway perfume and how it would smell like “tears, sweat, and… Chinese food” that I ran to my laptop and typed, “Something tells me that Chris already smells like tears, sweat, and Chinese food.”

And then that bear had to go and get kicked off tonight and I instantly felt guilty about it. And that never happens.

Maybe I’m just sad because I really liked Chris’ jacket, maybe because I liked the Grandmother’s Loveseat fabric a lot, probably because it reminded me of, well, my grandparents’ living room.

(Like Christian, I love Asians. They’re fierce.)

As an aside (it’s sort of fashion related), I have this affinity for the early ’80s. I have pale skin and red hair, so I look really good in earthtones. Basically, I want to live in Ordinary People: I want to wear plaid flannel shirts and corduroy pants and ski vests and furry wool jackets all the time (but not deal with the depression or the cold, Midwestern mother).

Anyway, I think I liked Chris’s team and Jillian’s team the best because they did sort of have that ’80s feel. Sure, Chris’ team was overshadowed by his old timey dress and jacket combination, but they still had that nice brown color. And finally we see something substantial from Jillian, and she’s no longer just the JAP-y one who looks like Miranda July.

Jillian is kind of cute, even if she’s also kind of boring. What she lacks in personality, she makes up for in a love for overalls.

I agreed with her when it came to Kevin: why did it take two days to make hot pants?

Did it take that long for him to make regular pants last week? Hot pants are just extra short pants, so, in my mind, they take an extra short time to make. I wish fashion followed my own personal logic.

Everyone I know is all pissed about VictorYA’s behavior last night. This is from a gchat conversation I had this morning:

Ugh, fine. VictorYA was bitchy, okay? But I loved her, mostly because we finally got to see something that resembled a fight.

That does not mean that I will ever take Ricky’s side. Ricky is the worst designer, and I want to punch him in the face, ‘kay?

I did love how adorable Elissa was; not only was she off in her own little world while Victorya and Ricky had their little spat, but she also took the blame during at the runway and said that she should be the one to go home. My guess is that she wasn’t even aware people were angry at each other.

“We Have No Secrets” — Carly Simon (mp3)

I don’t have much to say about Kit, Jack, and Christian except that Kit wanted to work with the Princess Twins because “they’re so much fun” and that’s why she’s on the show. That’s funny, I thought that the point of being on the show was to win. But maybe I’ve been watching too many reality TV competitions, not making ugly clothes for fun.

“Phantom (JC90 edit)” — Justice (mp3)

“Waters of Nazareth (John Redden remix)” — Justice (mp3)

Jack somehow managed to make vertical stripes look fat.

Here’s a fun fact about Jack that I just discovered: he’s dating Dale from Top Chef. The Bravo TV universe has exploded and it has blown my mind.

I know the designs are a major part of the show, but seriously: when are we going to see some actual fights and back-stabbing? I really hope someone throws a dress form at Christian or Ricky soon.

Tyler Coates is a contributor to This Recording. He lives and blogs in Chicago.

America weeps for you, Chris.

PREVIOUSLY ON THIS RECORDING

Stand up comics we can tolerate.

Becca got knocked up. Oh sorry, Knocked Up.

Indulging oneself.

3 thoughts on “In Which We Travel Back to 1981 to Learn a Thing or Two About Fashion

  1. I need to g-chat you Tyler to at least touch upon Sweet P’s, “Can I do eenie-meenie-miny-moe?” It was one of the highlights of my rather sad night.

Leave a comment