In Which Science Knocks Down Your Door With The Truth

Valley Girl Science Corner

cutest
almost there…must keep going…

Cutest Fugitive Ever! (Red Panda content!)

Providence Cat Predicts Deaths. Shades Of Lovecraft?

lovecraft

H.P. Lovecraft in 1934

and speaking of Lovecraft…

Big Squid eating its way through CA

And a giant squid washed ashore in Hobart, Australia

PANSPERMIA!

Earth has been exaggerating its size

pir

Dude catches a piranha in North Carolina river.

Original Gangsta Male Drag Queen Hapshetsut’s mummy identified.

Ancient Greenland was green

Real life Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind type specific memory deletion drug

preg
WHY, DO I LOOK FUCKING PREGNANT TO YOU?

So, if you’ve already breached scientific ethics enough to clone a pig, does that make it okay to give it Alzheimer’s disease?

Birds learn from each other and jock moves from competitors. Which is smart because songbirds prefer the latest tunes.

How amoeba groups punish cheaters

turtle

Snapping turtles test wifi networks

interactive paper, aka “paper four”

Problem solving apes.

Farthest known galaxies found.

cool
“Last night, I got so drunk that I African-Americaned out.”

I can’t stop sending this to people:
Alternate video for Kanye’s “Can’t Tell Me Nothing” Ft. Zach Galifianakis and Will Oldham

You can also find the video on Zach’s MySpace

Zach is one of my favorite comedians even though I can never remember how to spell his last name.

And Will Oldham is one of those people who I’ve loathed for so long with such a solar intensity that it could only deepen into the purest kind of love. This has also happened to me somewhat recently with Chloe Sevigny, Kate Bush, and recently Jim Morrison (though not the other Doors). Actually Will kinda looks like An American Poet in this picture, don’t you think?

old
love me two times baby, love me twice today

I was already kind of bending on Oldham when my seventeen year old cousin who is much cooler than I am gave me a good explanation of his merits. And then I saw Old Joy (full review forthcoming next week), which the blurb on the back compares to Brokeback Mountain but it’s closer to Chuck and Buck, and I was pretty much done for. I mean anyone who covers Mariah is good in my book.

mariah

Molly Lambert is the senior editor of this recording. She likes to do it on farm equipment.